感謝 Obama(雖然晚了很多天)

“…And to all those watching tonight from beyond our shores, from parliaments and palaces, to those who are huddled around radios in the forgotten corners of the world, our stories are singular, but our destiny is shared, and a new dawn of American leadership is at hand."

雖然 BBC 訪問全世界,沒有問到台灣的民眾如何看待歐巴馬的勝利,但是我想自己說一些、一點點的我的感想。每次當我聽到他的聲音、他的話語(我們上週四還在上「科學」的 public rhetoric),我都覺得充滿振奮與感動。我想感謝 Obama,因為他雖然是在選美國的選戰,但是他的精神鼓勵到的是美國各族裔、世界上各個角落的人們(我只記得 BBC 記者訪問埃及的人權運動者…)。

當然美國不是沒有問題的、民主黨不是沒有問題的,民主政治系統不是沒有問題的。我姊姊提了一個很實際的問題:有沒有可能美國人選出的只不過是一個很會說話、很會演講的政客而已?Obama 真的有那麼大的差別嗎?我跟她說我的想法:我覺得「魔鬼就在細節裡」。問題的重點不是「很會說話」是一種表面工夫,相對的應該要「老實不會說話,誠懇做事」。這些都是公關形象。但是問題的重點在於他所說的是「什麼話」,他怎麼說,他在什麼脈絡下對誰說、讓人們感受到的是什麼樣的真誠。

我自己沒有很多時間看這次美國總統大選的辯論、新聞,一個很深刻的印象是來自 Jon Stewart 的訪問:在一個亦虛亦實的 Comedy Central 喜劇星球的政治脫口秀節目現場連線,一個總統候選人該如何拿捏分寸?如何亦莊亦諧?我在這個很難把持的情境中,我在檢視的是 Obama 整個人如何回應這個情境。我有興趣的是這「整個人」。因為同樣的理由,我喜愛 Tina Fey 遠勝於賣刀具的 McCain 跟培琳本尊。

這只有描述我自己思考喜愛歐巴馬的「方法」與直覺。缺乏任何有意思的細節。我的朋友 Erik Ringmar 的部落格告訴我很多很棒的細節:關於黑人民權運動、以及關於 Obama 跟狄倫 Dylon 的關係(〈終於有個狄倫粉絲進入白宮了〉)。舉例來說,歐巴馬的勝利演講wikipedia 維基百科條目華盛頓郵報全文)。

“It’s been a long time coming, but tonight, because of what we did on this date in this election at this defining moment, change has come to America."

因為受到狄倫影響的黑人歌手 Sam Cooke 1964 年的單曲 A Change Is Gonna Come 就是在闡述黑人民權運動的多年艱辛漫長旅程之後,「改變終將來臨」。

“Change Is Gonna Come" is a 1964 single by R&B singer-songwriter Sam Cooke, written and first recorded in 1963 and released under the RCA Victor label shortly after his death in late 1964. Though only a modest hit for Cooke in comparison with his previous singles, the song came to exemplify the sixties Civil Rights Movement. The song has gained in popularity and critical acclaim in the decades since its release.

的確,連狄倫都支持他。(時代雜誌的專訪

“But we’ve got this guy out there now who is redefining the nature of politics from the ground up…Barack Obama.

“He’s redefining what a politician is, so we’ll have to see how things play out. Am I hopeful? Yes, I’m hopeful that things might change. Some things are going to have to."

He added: “You should always take the best from the past, leave the worst back there and go forward into the future."

感謝 Obama,雖然晚了很多天。我開始寫這篇文章是在 10 多天前,當中國官方特使來到台灣,但是卻造成了台灣更大的撕裂、對立的時候。我放下了正在寫的這篇文章,急著寫下許多等待見證的時刻與訊息。今天我回到了 Obama 的勝利演說,裡面有兩段特別讓我動容:歐巴馬對異議者、與共和黨的態度。

There will be setbacks and false starts. There are many who won’t agree with every decision or policy I make as president. And we know the government can’t solve every problem. But I will always be honest with you about the challenges we face. I will listen to you, especially when we disagree.

「但是我將會就我們所面對的挑戰、永遠對你們誠實。我將會聆聽你們,尤其是在我們意見不一致的時候。」(But I will always be honest with you about the challenges we face. I will listen to you, especially when we disagree. )

…Let’s remember that it was a man from this state who first carried the banner of the Republican Party to the White House, a party founded on the values of self-reliance and individual liberty and national unity. Those are values that we all share. And while the Democratic Party has won a great victory tonight, we do so with a measure of humility and determination to heal the divides that have held back our progress.

他從心底稱讚共和黨的創黨歷史、價值與精神!隔了這麼多天,我看到這段的時候還是忍不住跟底下的芝加哥民眾一起為他的話語感動。我只記得才幾天前,我印象中的檢察官發言人發表陳述認為,「起訴前朝的官員是很正常的事情」,因為他們曾經擁有資源、而且他們現在不當權了,現實上才有可能把他們違法犯紀的事情揪出來審判。為什麼歐巴馬沒有去作這樣的事情?在一個勝利的時刻,沒有去公開追獵他認為錯誤與惡劣的前朝「惡行」?

因為他要作全民的總統。因為他把民眾的聲音,跟非法犯行區分開來。

And to those Americans whose support I have yet to earn, I may not have won your vote tonight, but I hear your voices. I need your help. And I will be your president, too.

這件事情本來就不容易啊。

感謝 Obama,讓我知道真的有一種這樣的聲音、即便所有人都可能說這是虛偽的、做作的、欺騙選票的、假惺惺的修辭上的政治偽裝與塗裝,能夠如此清越如斯,迴盪著過去的前人足跡、指向一個一起奮鬥的未來。

5 thoughts on “感謝 Obama(雖然晚了很多天)

  1. 「因為他要作全民的總統。因為他把民眾的聲音,跟非法犯行區分開來。」這一句說的很好。在台灣,用法律問題將特定政黨貼上標簽已經是行之有年了,可憐的是台灣人一時間還跳不出這個輪迴。

  2. hi Kwai, Thanks for sharing the story. It’s really touching.

    Thinker, great to receive certain message from you. Yes, “supervision" is the power of the people. How do we move toward that direction together?

  3. Strong of Anthropology blog SavageMinds.org is writing another article: Everybody’s President? (News from Nairobi)

    “…I was still at the Starbucks in Dublin airport when Obama’s speech was broadcast live after the election was called. There was Oprah crying, and Jesse Jackson. An anthropologist friend and I exchange text messages. I note the giant glass walls on the stage. He txts with characteristic brilliance: ‘teardrop guards’. Yes I’m tearing up, especially when—this truly thrilled me—especially when Obama talked to people ‘listening to radios’ in remote parts of the world. I thought to myself, who but Obama on this occasion would bother to remember those folks and to speak to them? This man can be a president of a different order altogether. Perhaps the often jingoist phrase ‘leader of the free world’ might gain new meaning, might be resignified, for a new generation…"

發表迴響

